Evacuations begin in Mariupol, Volnovakha but Russia says break local ceasefire

Singapore announces sanctions against Russia over Ukraine invasion

Singapore announces sanctions against Russia for its invasion of Ukraine, becoming one of the few Southeast Asian governments to do so.

“The sovereignty, political independence and territorial integrity of all countries, large and small, must be respected,” a Foreign Ministry statement said.

The tiny city-state imposes controls on the export or transshipment of military-use or dual-use items considered “strategic goods”. He says the sanctions were meant to limit Russia’s ability to wage war and engage in “cyberaggression.”

The regional trading center also said it would ban all financial institutions from doing business with four Russian banks: VTB Bank, Bank Rossiya, Promsvyazbank Public Joint Stock Co. and Corporation Bank for Development and Foreign Economic Affairs Vnesheconombank. Companies with existing relationships with all four must freeze their assets, he says.

The order also prohibits providing financial services or permitting funding from the Russian central bank, the Russian government and entities owned or controlled by them.